Posted by: steveonfilm | March 24, 2011

Cyberspace Open – Winter 2011: The Waiting

I’ve gotten a few e-mails from people waiting for the results of round one of the Cyberspace Open to be posted. My advice, relax… they were late last year, and might be late this year too. I’m not even sure if the March 24th “announcement” deadline is still realistic since they pushed the start date of the contest back to begin with.

But, bottom line, don’t worry so much about it. They’ll come when they come, and you’ll still have a week or two to schedule time to write your entry for round two if you make it in.

Take solace that at least this year you get a whole weekend for round two. Last year we got 24 hours. That was a bitch, especially if you haven’t had to write under that kind of situation before. It was an interesting challenge though, and I was pleased with what I came up with, even if I knew it’d be better if I had another day or so to work on it.

I’m not coming up with excuses for the contest organizers, I’m just saying in the grand scheme of things this isn’t something you should spend time worrying over. I know I’m not… I’ve got better things to do (movies, games, writing, etc). When it comes, it’ll come.

Now, I’ve got to get back to working on The Prey before I get pulled into something else work related after hours.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. The list is up and it appears neither you nor I made the cut. Lowest score was 93 with ten scoring a perfect 100. I don’t see a page with scene feedback anywhere.

    • Oh well… it was fun anyway. Scores are DRASTICALLY higher this year. I don’t think anyone scored a 100 last year, and some 2nd rounders scored in the high 80s I think.

  2. I see the top 100 but I can’t find the scores and feedback for the dregs. Any idea where that information is.
    By the way, your scene was fab. The top 100 must’ve been especially good.

    • Last year they sent a link to a website with all of the feedback. Most people just got a sentence or two. So don’t expect a whole lot. I think there were more entries this time, hence a higher average score and probably better “top 100” than last year. Then again, who knows, as with all contests judging is subjective, and it either clicks or doesn’t. Thanks for the props on my scene, I appreciate it.

    • Not sure if you were wondering, but for the record, those who made the cut have not received feedback yet either. It was a major selling point for the contest, so hopefully this is remedied.

      • Right. I’m sure it will be like last year where they e-mail out a link to a website that has feedback and scores sorted by order number. When it comes, everyone will get it.

  3. My first contest, my first attempt at a screenplay, and of course I didn’t make the cut. I am not bitter about this, but I need to learn from it. It would be helpful if they would publish the scenes that won. Of course that costs money and time both of which I’m sure they’re in short supply of, as are the rest of us.

    Regardless I’ll be back to try again.

    • Actually… you’ll get a chance to read the top 3 finalists from the 2nd round. That’s part of the contest’s process, and I found all three of them pretty interesting to read last year, though I didn’t agree with the one that won. But hey, that’s me, and all of this stuff is subjective.

      Stick with it John, the Cyberspace Open is a fun little contest that is different than most of the other stuff out there. It’s challenges a writer in a different manner than when you have all the time in the world to polish up a full length script.

      And hey, I scored a 95 last year, tying for the 4th highest score from round one, and I didn’t make the round one cut this year. You never know how things are going to turn out. Sometimes you nail it, sometimes you don’t. That’s just the way it goes. Whether is screenwriting or your regular job.

    • John, I’m one of the lucky stiffs who scored 100, and if you email me at foreverunchanged (at) gmail I’d gladly let you look at my scene.

      • I would love to read your script, if you’d be so kind. thanks.

  4. Thank you for the replies.

    @spookymilk E-Mail on the way.

    Yes, I understand we get to read the 3 top entries of round 2, and indeed I want to. I truly enjoyed seeing last years entries. This round seemed particularly challenging, as I saw some others blogging (forgive me, I don’t recall where) so, I thought it might be a bit more educational to see how others successfully met this challenge.

    • I’d have to agree with you on this round being more challenging than round one last year. There was a more direct set up for the scene, as opposed a bit more ambiguous direction with last year’s prompt. I’m not saying it was a bad thing for them to do, it just isn’t usually my cup of tea.

      But, ultimately, it’s the subtext thing that I think was make or break this time. I can do dialog pretty well, but I excel at structure and story. Some people can write fantastic dialog, but can’t put a cohesive full length script together to save their life. That’s why I love this contest. It’s just so different than anything else out there.

      But yeah, from an educational perspective, it’s good to see how some other top 100 people approached the material. I know one other top 100 from a writer’s group I belong to, and I thought their approach was just fantastic.

  5. If you would be so kind, I too would love to read your script.

  6. Yup, that’s what I was referring to. I think the challenge was a good one, and certainly pointed out sticking to the requirements of a producer. A huge thanks to Spookymilk for sharing, it was clearly what they were looking for. Also was well done enough that I would love to see it as a fully developed project.


Leave a Reply

Categories

