Posted by: steveonfilm | May 1, 2011

The Prey: Act 2 – Part 3

I had a good writing session today. Or rather… sessions. Managed to get past pinch 2. So I’m officially half way done with Act Two B. I’m sitting at a solid 15 pages for Act Two B right now. So I’m pacing myself well, and keeping things within margins.

I’ll tell you, one of the really fun things about writing a horror movie is how you get to kill people. Typically I’ve written your standard thriller fare. Lots of guns. Bullets through the skull. I’ve had a few interesting deaths (see Served Cold), but otherwise it’s been pretty standard. But this… this has been fun.

It’s almost a bit liberating. You’re so constrained sometimes with what you’re writing. You have to operate within the norms of the real world. But when you dip your toes into the horror world, those constraints go out the window.

Basically, some of my notes are as simple as “Villain kills Character D.” I might have a sentence or two more describing location, but that’s about it. Other than that, I’ve got free range. And it’s been awesome thus far. I’m not saying these are the most original kills. Or that they’re the most gruesome. But they’ve definitely got some serious slasher elements to them. And that only ratchets up toward the end.

On the flip side, I’ve really had to be careful with my time management lately. WIth work keeping my as busy as I have been, finding time to write has been tough. During the week I’ll take what I can get. But lately I’ve settled into a regular Sunday routine. If this is all I can manage for now, I’ll have to be complacent with that. But this script is the first time I’ve really understood what a lot of other writers have to deal with.

I was going to write more on this… but I decided I think it’ll come across better as a video. So expect a video sometime in the next few days with my thoughts on the subject.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

