Posted by: steveonfilm | May 8, 2011

Django Unchained!

I know a guy, who knows someone, who sent them a copy of the script for Django Unchained and they sent it to me.

What’s Django Unchained?

THE NEXT MOVIE THAT QUENTIN TARANTINO IS MAKING YOU FOOLS!!!

I’m not saying who sent it to me. I’m not saying why. But I’m sure I’m not the only lucky fanboy who got a copy from someone this weekend. From what I can tell, it’s all over the place now, and if you look hard enough you can probably find a copy online soon. But not here. I will not be posting it up.

This is the first Tarantino script that I’ve gotten my hands on. And I can tell you it reads far different than other scripts out there. Breaks formatting rules. Does things we’re told we’re not supposed to do. But hey, when your name is Quentin Tarantino you can do whatever you want.

Unfortunately, I read about Will Smith being sought as the lead character Django. Why is this unfortunate? Because I couldn’t get the idea of The Fresh Prince out of my head as I read this thing. The choice seems odd to me. But then again, A LOT of Tarantino’s casting choices seem odd at first, and they all end up working in the end.

I’m still reading through this thing. And I’ll likely give it a second read as well, it’s THAT interesting. When I’m done I’ll do a sort of quasi review of the story. I won’t give things away, but I just want to talk about what it was like reading the script itself since it just seems to different than what I’m used to reading.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. You are too lucky. When I found a copy of the “Inglourious Basterds” screenplay on the internet I didn’t leave my chair till I was finished reading it. Tarantino is by far the best film maker out there today. There’s no one out there to even compare him to. I just hope I’ll get to read “Django Unchained” before the film is released. I even watched the original “Django” on Netflix the other day to familiarize myself with the material. I’m sure it’ll be another masterpiece and Will Smith would be awesome in the lead…I just picture him as a loner like his character in “I Am Legend.”

    • If you look hard enough, you can find a copy of “Django Unchained” online. I’ve seen it a few times.

      Quentin is solid, but by no means is he the best, or at the least “by far” the best.

      Not with names like The Coens, Paul Thomas Anderson, JJ Abrams, Guillermo del Toro, Sam Mendes… and I could go on.

      I don’t have much knowledge of the original “Django,” but as with Basterds, I’m sure it was a fun foundation to run crazy with.


Leave a Reply

Categories

