Posted by: steveonfilm | May 11, 2011

Django Unchained: The “Review”

I just finished reading the script. It’s the first time I’ve read something written by Tarantino. I must say, he’s got a unique writing style to his screenplays. Then again, I guess that shouldn’t be too surprising considering who he is… and when your last name is Tarantino you can basically do whatever you want.

Like Inglorious Bastards and his other films, Django Unchained has a lot of dialog heavy scenes. They read fast. But sometimes some of the stuff comes across as hit and miss. But I think that’s normal. Dialog is weird like that. Things that might not read well come across as aces when it hit’s the screen. I’m sure this will be much of the same.

When I first started reading the script I had a hard time picturing Will Smith as Django. But the more I got into it, the more I realized he can totally do this just fine. If anything, a gritty role like this can open up some eyes to look at him for different types of rolls. Smith can act, no doubt. We’re just used to seeing him in certain roles. Django Unchained should change that if he does in fact take the part (and that’s to say the stories about Tarantino wanting him are legit to begin with).

The final act is fantastic. I mean just perfect for a “Spaghetti Western.” The last thirty pages or so just fly by and you realize the story has you perfectly. You want to see justice… and are on edge hoping you get what you’re aching for.

As with some of his other flicks, the middle (or long ass second act) can drag at times. Whether or not this is the case on screen will depend on how it’s shot and edited. If you like Tarantino dialog scenes, you’ll likely enjoy most of what goes down. If you don’t, well, you’ve already been down that road before. However, everything that happens in the second act is there to really set up the finale, and these events do their jobs well.

Could it have been shorter than 166 pages? Sure. Did it need to be? Not really. The story works. The action works. The dialog works. I never felt bored or counted pages. And when I was done it felt like a satisfying experience.

A newbie writer couldn’t get away with this script. Everyone would shit on formatting, pacing, and being over 110 pages. But when your name is Quentin Tarantino you can do whatever you want. And fortunately, I don’t feel like Tarantino took advantage of that rule at all. He made it all count. And that’s really all you can hope for when you read a script.

I look forward to seeing this in the theaters, and owning it on blu-ray in my personal collection.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

