Posted by: steveonfilm | May 23, 2011

You’re Doing It Wrong

“If you find yourself squinting at the theater, it might not be because of the standard plot holes and hacky exposition. It could be the lens of the projector.”

The Consumerist links to a Boston Globe article which points out that many theaters are using 3-D lenses on 2-D movies. This causes the image to be darker than it was intended when it’s projected onto the screen.

I’ve seen two movies in 3-D. The first was Avatar. This was 3-D done right. Created from the ground up for the medium. The second was Tron: Legacy. I’d heard the 3-D conversion was good, and was curious to see how the light cycles races looked. I was lucky that they looked great.

But every other ‘3-D’ movie out I’ve made sure I watched in 2-D. I don’t “need” 3-D. Unless it’s designed from the ground up for the medium, it just doesn’t end up looking right. And it’s a rip off.

I’ve been lucky that the theaters near me have select screens that they show their 3-D movies in, and that’s ALL they show in those theaters. So there’s no real way to have the scenario play our that The Consumerist and Boston Globe report on. But I’m lucky… it seems for most people that’s not the case. However, since I’ve got a Regal and AMC near me I frequent, I think it’s only a matter of time before that changes.

I’ve found myself going some of the more local movie chains to pay less for a movie. And now if that means I can have better odds of avoiding this 3-D projections BS, it’s just another reason I’ll keep this trend up.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. I’m not interested in 3D.

    This isn’t because I think it’s a worthless medium, mind you. It’s because the average person who goes to a movie because it’s in 3D is willing to swallow anything shoved down his throat as long as it’s pretty. I feel the same way about them as I do about the horror genre; so much potential wasted, because fans simply don’t care about how good it is as long as it fits the definition.

    • I wouldn’t say it’s worthless, but unless it’s shot natively in 3-D, I don’t see the point.

      • Roger Ebert had an awesome essay about this very topic. “Why 3-D Doesn’t Work and Never Will.” http://blogs.suntimes.com/ebert/2011/01/post_4.html

        • Thanks for the article. I follow Ebert on Twitter and enjoy his commentaries on film and the industry in general.


Leave a Reply

Categories

