Posted by: steveonfilm | June 1, 2011

Jo-Blo.com Reviews ‘Super 8’

I’m a regular reader of JoBlo.com. They’ve got pretty good news. And the writing style of the writers is a bit more professional that a lot of the fan-boy movie sites out there. So I was super excited to check the site out today and find a review for J.J. Abrams next flick ‘Super 8.’

I’ve been a fan of J.J. since my early days of ‘LOST‘, even though he didn’t have a whole lot to do with the show after the first season. He was also the creator and show runner for one of The Wife’s favorite shows ‘Felicity.’ When I first heard about the plans for ‘Super 8’ I was excited (J.J. and Spielberg, it’s a WIN/WIN!). Then when I saw the trailer I was even more excited. Now, after reading the review of the film over at Joblo.com if I get any more excited I might have an accident.

Super 8 is an extraordinary movie that somehow brings in the sheer excitement that POLTERGEIST (another Spielberg production) brought, along with a sense of wonderment and innocence from an always changing world. There is a clear sense of Spielberg’s style here, yet Abrams is not simply relying on nostalgia and homage, this is a wonderfully familiar tale with a fresh look.

This is EXACTLY what I was hoping for. You can read the rest of the short review here.

The summer is shaping up to be very exciting. Along with ‘Captain America‘ and ‘X-Men: First Class‘, I’ll be adding ‘Super 8’ to my opening weekend must see list.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

