Posted by: steveonfilm | June 12, 2011

Drip, Drip, Drip

A fantastic tip over at Screenwriting Tips, You Hack today:

When you decide you’ve run out of time and you’re not going to write today, just write one sentence. Or one action paragraph, or a single line of dialogue. You’ll feel better, and the story will stay alive in your mind for another day. Consider it a small propitiation to the gods of your script.

I think a lot of us are faced with this reality. There simply isn’t enough time to write. Or we’re too tired. Or we’re sick. Or a plethora of other things. We just aren’t able to write.

I harp on keeping a schedule time and time again. I’m as guilty as breaking my own rules as anyone. But I come back and getting schedule. And I’ll keep coming back every time I fall off the wagon. However, the tip above sort of put writing into a different perspective for me.

A leaky faucet is annoying. The constant drip, drip, drip. You put a glass underneath it and it will catch all the water. Each drip slowly adding up. And then, after several hours, days, weeks, you find yourself with an entire glass of water. A finished product. Screenwriting doesn’t have to be any different.

We might not have the time to sit down and pound out 2-5 pages every night. But I think all of us can find the time to drop down a line or two. It’s a drip. And it doesn’t seem like much. But if we keep adding those drips, eventually we’ll have an entire glass of water.

I’m going to incorporate this into my daily routine. One line. One paragraph. One beat of action. Just something. Whether it’s original or a re-write. Something every day. Because I know that when that glass of water is filled up, it is most certainly refreshing.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Yeah, I love this one. I love that site in general.

    • Yup. One of the few sites that I check daily, and plug on here as much as I can.

  2. You’re the man! You never cease to inspire bro.

    • Thanks Bob! That’s really what I try to do, help people over that hump of getting from the blank page to FADE OUT. I can’t offer much professional or career advice, but I can heap on the inspiration.


Leave a Reply

Categories

