Posted by: steveonfilm | June 16, 2011

Writing Better Scene Description

I’ve been a big fan of John August ever since I found his blog. I didn’t really know who he was prior to that. But once I “found” him, I realized I’d been a big fan of his movies without even realizing it.

I’ve suggested you check out his blog before, and if you haven’t you really need to give it a go. He posts a few times a week, and they’re always insightful.

When I “help out” people who are just getting starting with their screenwriting, one of the first things I notice with how they write are large blocks of scene description. This is a VERY common thing for new writers. I think we’ve all been there. I know I was when I first started.

Some of us can figure out how to improve on that ourselves, just with trial and error and mimicking what we see. Other times we need someone to help us realize our weakness and improve on it.

John shot a video tackling this very subject. He takes a large block of scene description and breaks it down into smaller, more interesting, chunks. Not only is John excellent at explaining things in an easy to follow and non-condescening manner, he just seems to be like a really nice guy. You WANT to listen to him, you know what I mean?

Here’s John’s video:

He has a few of these and I’ll likely post them up over time. I know I pick up on a new thing he mentions each time, and always try to see if I can incorporate it into my own writing.

Hope this helps.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Holy cow, great timing! I was just dealing with this issue today.

    Man, I see stuff like this, and it just excites me. I just want to write, and talk about writing and be around writing. I’m teaching another course this fall, and this stuff just gets me amped up even more.

    • Good deal man!

      Any time I find solid stuff from professionals I think can help people I post them up.

      John’s been a fantastic source since I discovered his blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

