Posted by: steveonfilm | July 5, 2011

Business Trip

Regular readers might have noticed that I added a page, logline, and pdf for ‘The Prey.’ I finished up the second draft this weekend, and felt it was time to put something up on the blog. I sent it over to Michael on Sunday for review. Hopefully after reading it he doesn’t feel like this has been a huge waste of his time.

I’ve stared tinkering with my next script already. I’ve got a few rough ideas about how I want to approach it, but things are still very much in that murky big picture phase. Go too big on the story and I might not be able to pull it off. Go too small and it could fall apart if the character development isn’t without fault. I’ll keep playing around with it until I can settle on an approach that I feel comfortable with.

I’m heading to Dallas for the next three days on business. So I’ll have a lot of time to myself in the evening to write and toy around with things. I’d like to have a more concrete idea of how I’d like to approach my next script by the time I get back. Or at least enough to start messing around with some sort of three act paradigm/structure.

I hope everyone had a great holiday weekend.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. Hey Steve – Good on ya. You’re a machine!

    • Thanks Bob!

      Gotta keep at it if I’m ever gonna get ahead.

  2. I was traveling a lot for work while working on Shiny Penny. I always wrote on the plane and in the hotel–a little trick that made me feel like I was getting paid to write.

    As far as I’m concerned, the mere act of me traveling from place to another IS the day job. What i do DURING that flight and hotel time is up to me.

    • I can barely do anything while flying. But I hear you on the day job thing.

  3. By the way, are you doing anything special with your font or kerning in The Prey? Looks roomy. Much of that (most of that) is due to really nice, lean writing, but just curious is you’re doing anything else.

    • Just using Final Draft defaults. The rest is just my writing style.

  4. Whoa, draft of the The Prey already! Nice! This makes me jealous enough to start writing again.

    Nice work on your character intros, everyone seems immediately distinct and ‘visible’. This is a huge change from the 4th draft of Served Cold (I think).

    • Thanks Brent. I’ve really concentrated on makeing them better.

      The latest draft of “Served Cold” has, what I think, are my best character intros ever.

      I really looked at how you did things, as well as how a few of my favorite scripts intro characters as well, and put a lot of effort into it.

      My rough drafts usually have generic descriptions, and I then go back and flesh them out in the first and second draft. So far that seems to work pretty well for me.

  5. Hey Steve

    I’ve been following your journey for a long time now. I hope all goes well on your trip. I’ve decided to blog about my journey through my next screenplay because of the enjoyment and motivation I’ve got reading your blog. I’m sure if you keep it up one day you’ll be cruising down the streets of L.A. and see a billboard of one of your movies. Keep it up buddy

    aaron

    • Thanks Aaron. I’ll be sure to check your blog out. What’s your first script about.

      • My script is about guy who’s wife dies in a car accident he feels like he caused and how he deals with it.

        Its a pretty generic idea but I have a few pretty colorful characters in my head.

        • What’s the hook? Like you said, it “sounds” generic, but no one sets out to write a generic story. And I’m sure you’re not either. What makes your take on this subject different than other similar stories? Quirky characters aren’t enough… there’s got to be something that they’re centered around. What sort of things do you have in mind?


Leave a Reply

Categories

