Posted by: steveonfilm | August 16, 2011

Ins, Outs, and What-Have-Yous

I don’t know what it is about these past two weeks, but by the time I get back from the gym at night I’m just exhausted. I shower up, eat a second dinner, and then do some writing. Before I know it the clock says it’s 11:37 and I realize I haven’t posted anything to the blog. It’s times like this that I reminisce about my old job.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy where I work. I’m good at my job. People come to me for answers. I get shit done and I get results. And if the meetings we have planned the next two weeks go the way I think they will, my client alone will account for over 30% of my company’s North American revenue. That’s all stuff I’m insanely proud of.

But the flip side is that with success comes more work. These things didn’t come easy. I had to put in long hours. Sacrifice free time. Scale back my hobbies. But your real life career needs to come first. That’s what pays the bills. That’s what you need to enjoy first before going after your “dream.” And I enjoy my current job, which is more than I can say for a lot of people.

My last job wasn’t as fulfilling from a career perspective. The pay was pretty good (though under market). But there was no mobility. No chance to do anything else. The benefit was that I rarely put in more than a 6 hour day. It was because of this I was able to put so much time into my writing. And it was my last job that was really responsible for my ability to really grow these last three years as a writer.

I just had so much free time. I left work around 3 PM. Rarely had to do anything from home. I was at the gym by 5. Cleaned up and chilling around the house by 7. Got in an hour or two of video games. Maybe even a movie too. And I still had 1-2 hours a night for writing. I mean, aside from the job being bland, I had a nice little life set up for myself.

But it wasn’t enough. Not to hit the goals I wanted to hit by the time I’m 35. I needed to leave. And I did. And I make more money. And I’ve been promoted. And I’m getting closer to where I want to be. And all of this is good. But I do miss that free time…

Especially times like this…

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Responses

  1. “And if the meetings we have planned the next two weeks go the way I think they will, my client alone will account for over 30% of my company’s North American revenue. That’s all stuff I’m insanely proud of.”

    Holy crap Steve… That’s awesome. Congrats.

    • Thanks man. Right now we’ve just got their new market customers on our system. If these talks go well we’ll migrate over all the customers they have on their two in house systems, which is a shit ton.


Leave a Reply

Categories

