Posted by: steveonfilm | September 5, 2011

You Missed A Spot

Had a good conversation with Michael tonight about my last draft of ‘The Prey.’

It’s interesting to go through the back and forth that writers do with their managers/agents. I’m able to get somewhat of a taste for what it’s like to be a pro, though I’m sure the legit conversations are a bit more intense.

All in all, my approach to the story seemed like a net positive. There weren’t any big complaints or issues with the main beats, structure, or the few set pieces I have in place.

Michael pointed a lot of stuff I wasn’t noticing. This is a good reasons why you should have people other than yourself read your material. You need an outside perspective. Things that make sense in your head, but are missing that one extra detail to make sense on the page. There are simply things that your eyes will miss no matter how many times you go over your own words.

Outside of small details that I’ll be changing per his direction, there were two big issues that Michael noticed and I need to address, pacing and page count. The reality is these two items are one in the same. Cut the page length down and it should, key word should, speed up the pace.

The current “second draft” of ‘The Prey’ is 107 pages long. I worked hard to keep it under 110, but in the beginning it’s better to be too long than too short. The tip goes, ‘it’s easier to cut than to add in.’

Michael suggested a final page count of around 95-100 pages, which is where I figured it should land too. The horror genre is usually spits out movies that are 90-100 minutes in length. Getting the page count down will help speed up the pacing.

However, if I get it down to 97 pages and he still thinks it’s slow in parts I might have a real problem on my hands.

But really that’s it. I’ll have to rework a lot of small details. This will result in changes down stream to avoid story and logic inconsistencies. But that’s all par for the course and part of the revision process.

Frankly, I’m glad that I finally got around to talking to Michael again. I’ve been having trouble getting my next personal project off the ground, so it’s good to have something to write while I’m working through that. We didn’t get a chance to meet up while I was out in L.A. So it was just good to chat with him.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

