Posted by: steveonfilm | January 16, 2012

The Prognosis

We got the prognosis for my father on Wednesday… stage one, type one, thyroid cancer. One of the most treatable cancers there are. It’s estimated that over thirty percent of all people have some form of thyroid cancer when they die. So basically, more people die with thyroid cancer than from thyroid cancer.

The prognosis for my father is excellent. He will be going in for surgery on the 24th to have the tumor and his thyroid removed. A few weeks later, he’ll undergo an special radioactive iodine treatment to remove any remaining cancer cells that might be left.

However, the best news was that the thyroid cancer was unrelated to his CLL, and the surgery and treatment shouldn’t aggravate it at all.

It’s weird though… as much as I’m glad that my father, for lack of a better term, will be fine, this whole scenario really brought home the reality that one day he won’t be there anymore. One day he will die. One day I won’t have a father anymore.

It’s a very unsettling feeling. All I can do is accept it, and do the things I want to do, so that when that enviable day comes, I’m not left saying, “I wish we’d just been able to…”

I don’t ever want to have that feeling.

Keep writing,
-Steve

Responses

  1. Great. I’ll say a prayer of thanks. You have the right idea about continuing to pursue your goals despite the fact that death will inevitably yank him out of your life. I’d just like to suggest that in the meantime you consider doing things to get closer to him, like talk over the phone and visit more often. My situation was a bit different, but that’s what I did with my father, and it made me feel much better after he passed. You won’t want to have any regrets when its too late to rectify them.

    • Bob, that’s exactly what I was getting at. I don’t want to ever look back and say, “I wish we’d just been able to…”

      I talk to my dad a lot, and we have a great time when we visit, but we’ve never gone on that fishing trip we’ve always talked about.

      We never done a lot of things that we’d talked about.

      I want to change that.

      And now is as good a time as any to start.


Leave a Reply

Categories

