Posted by: steveonfilm | May 9, 2012

Hit The One In The Middle

I wish I could find where I read this, it was just a day or two ago…

Anyway, there was a screenwriter, again I wish I could remember who it was and where I read it, who said, in summary:

“I like to figure out the beginning and then the end. Once those are in place, I work forward and backward until the two parts meet in the middle.”

I thought this was pretty awesome advice for how to go about starting to flesh out your story.

It likely won’t work for everyone, but it’s certainly a new way to look at things.

Keep writing,
-Steve

Responses

  1. Awesome. I totally just did this the other day for my current script. The whole climax came to me while I was running, so I got home and wrote the whole thing. Feels right, so now i just need to write to that ending.

    I’ve never actually done the ‘writing the ending before I get there’ thing before, but I do almost always know my inciting incident, Act I break, midpoint, crisis and climax before I start writing (or least have really strong ideas about them).


Leave a Reply

Categories

