Posted by: steveonfilm | May 28, 2012

The Pivot

As of about ten minutes ago, I’ve finished putting up the notecards for my next project on the big board. I’m sure some details will change between now and when I start writing, but I’ve definitely got some semblance of a feeling of accomplishment right now.

I spent a good five to six hours this weekend trying to get things figured out and finished up this weekend. There’s been a lot of moving. A lot of taking down. And all in all, it’s been quite an interesting experience.

I’m going to write a bit more this week about the positives and negatives from using a board to plot out the big beats for your script. It’s not for everyone, but I think if you’re a visual kind of person, this might be something you should look into.

It would appear as though I’m not the only one out there who likes using boards. Hollywood Personality J.D. Ryznar also likes boards. In this video you can watch him get some doin’ done and build his own.

Until next time, keep writing!
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

