Posted by: steveonfilm | June 25, 2012

I Dreamt A Dream

I had a dream Saturday night that I don’t think I’ll forget for a long time.

In my dream, I had managed to move to Los Angeles.

My entire family was there. My parents. My brothers. I think a few secondary relatives as well. We had all made the move, together. And I soon realized that I wasn’t an adult, but a teenager. The odd thing was that I was conscious of all of this… knowing that I was actually an adult, and not the teenager who’s body I was stuck in. I had all my experiences and memories of who I really was, and the life I actually had.

I remember standing in the driveway of our house and looking out to the mountains. I never actually saw what the house we lived in looked like, but I knew we lived there and were still unpacking. I remember standing there and watching the sun set over the mountains and saying out loud, “I finally made it” and repeating that I “can’t’ believe I actually moved out here.”

I have vivid dreams often, but this dream was something else… it was a notch above what I usually dream. I’ve maybe had a dream like this seven or eight times in my life. I could taste. Smell. Feel warmth, coolness. I was totally conscious of my real body, while at the same time feeling perfectly comfortable in my dream body. It’s hard to put into words… other than saying it was like looking into an alternate reality of what my seventeen year old life could have been.

Another weird thing was that for some reason I wanted to go check out the campus of UCLA. And since I was only a teenager, I grabbed my bike. I don’t remember where I got the bike from, or actually getting on it, just that at some point I was riding it down a street looking for UCLA. I’ve been to UCLA once in my life, during my first time visiting LA about 6 years ago or so. It was a short trip while my friend was running an errand, so I just walked around the campus for an hour or so. But, for whatever reason, in my dream I knew that we had lived close and I wanted to see the campus again. Maybe it was a way of proving to myself that I had actually gotten to LA, I don’t know.

I never made it to the campus. My dream world started to sort of fall apart since I didn’t have a clear direction on where to go. It was like in Inception where they designed buildings that looked normal, but on second glance you realize that the stairs all lead people back the way they came, and there was no real way out. I had gotten to that point. I remember sweating, and thinking that it shouldn’t be as hot as it was in LA. But I never found the campus. And then…

I woke up.

I laid in bed for a while, forcing myself to catalog the dream in my head, pushing to remember as much as I could before it was all gone. I thought about theories as to why certain elements showed up, why my wife wasn’t there, why none of my friends who actually live in LA were there, why I was a teenager… And while I did this, I kept going over the one thing that felt more real than any other part of the dream… the sense of relief. I felt this overwhelming sense of relief. Like a major goal in my life had been achieved, even if in my dream I knew it wasn’t real.

It was that relief that I’ll remember more than anything else.

Keep writing,
-Steve

Responses

  1. Awesome. Here’s hoping the essence of that dream (Steve moves to LA) becomes a reality for you.

    Then I can sleep on your couch when I come pimping my scripts… 🙂

    • As long as you promise to play XBOX with me, you can do whatever you want.


Leave a Reply

Categories

