Posted by: steveonfilm | January 7, 2013

Plan of Attack

I’ve set 4 goals for myself as follows:

-Finish a draft of my horror script “Last One Standing”
-Finish a draft of my sci-fi project
-Finish a draft of a brand new project
-Rewrite “Served Cold”
-Bonus Goal: Finish a new draft of “The Prey”

That’s a lot to take on this year, but certainly a realistic set of objectives to accomplish.

To help with my goals I’ve put together a plan of attack.

First, no drinking during the week. This seems silly, but over this last year I’ve come to accept that I’m not one of those people who can drink and write. Some people can do it, I can’t. I just get sleepy.

Second, no video games after 9 o’clock. Video games were a big productivity killer for me last year. It’s my main form of entertainment, which is fine, I just need to ration it a bit more.

Third, writing time every night is 9 to 11 o’clock. I used to be really good at spending two hours a night writing. The past year, not so much.

Fourth, bounce to another project when I hit a rut. I’ve got up to a total of five projects on my plate this year. When I hit a spot where I’m just not feeling one of them, I’ll just roll off to another one. This was something that I didn’t do last year. I just had one project going at a time. When I hit a rut, I had no where else to turn. Sometimes the best solutions to your problems come when you’re working on something else completely unrelated.

Fifth, weekends off. If I give it my all Sunday night through Thursday night, I get Friday night through Sunday afternoon off. That’s not to say that I can’t write if I’m in the mood, but it’s not part of my “schedule” so to speak.

And that’s pretty much it. Five pieces to the puzzle. All easy to manage. All fit easily within my normal day to day life. Time to hit the ground running.

Keep writing,
-Steve

Responses

  1. Damn. I know what it’s like to juggle multiple projects. Switching gears isn’t always easy. But not impossible. Good luck, man.

    • Yeah, I think it depends on your personality. Some people have to stay focused on one thing. I’ve never been that way, so I don’t know why I tried to shoe horn myself into doing that last year. It all comes down to taking advantage of your talents, you know? BTW Eric, been meaning to post something to the blog about you and your thesis…

  2. That would be great, Steve! Let me know if you need anything from me.

    • All I need from you right now is to concentrate on your thesis!

  3. […] been working on my rebranding and writing and stuff. First order of business is to create a plan of attack! Very wise, Steve Pryor! You’re a real writer. Love your […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

