Posted by: steveonfilm | February 28, 2013

Hey, Look At Me!

Things have been quiet on the blog lately. Frankly, it’s been because I’ve been too busy to find time in the evenings to post. And lets be honest here, I’m not exactly shedding huge amounts of “enlightenment” about the screenwriting world. I find something cool, I post about it. Nothing cool, nothing to post. Pretty much that simple.

Another reason is my day job. The last year ten months or so I’ve been busting my ass to really try and get ahead. I received two awards for my performance last year, and a sizable merit raise for this year. However, the ultimate payoff for all the hard work is tomorrow afternoon when I interview for a management position with my company.

Flashback to July… some representatives from our international headquarters (we’re a German company) show up at our North American HQ (my office) with some video cameras. I come to find out that they’re part of our marketing team and were there to film footage and interview employees as part of our new corporate recruitment branding. Guess what? That asked me to be in the videos.

The first few batches dropped today on Youtube. Mind you, we have about 5,000 employees worldwide. And now I’m part of our international face… it’s kind of cool, at least I think it is.

Here I get to say one word and seem kind of goofy:



The great looking Asian woman (the one you’re looking at as the face of the video) that appears after me is Kathy Park, one of our QA analyst and the aunt of one of the students my wife teaches in high school.

We’re an energy company in Europe (though the North American branch where I work is purely software), so we were supposed to work in some sort of way our jobs have energy… this is the best I could come up with:



Here I answered a question about “work life balance”:



I’m not sure how many more they’re going to post, but I won’t bore you with posting any of them. All in all it was a cool experience. I’ve never done anything like this before, so I’m glad I got the chance.

Keep writing,
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

