Posted by: steveonfilm | May 19, 2013

Rambling

I finished a rewrite of “Served Cold” on Monday the 13th. I didn’t post anything about it because it was late, and I was tired. But I did update my ‘2013 Goals’ page and marked that goal as complete with a date stamp.

Finishing the rewrite felt pretty good. “Served Cold”, now titled “Blowback”, is that one script of mine I never think I’ll be able to let go, but I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to really get into proper shape. That’s not to say that some day it won’t be “good,” but more that I’m not sure it’ll ever be “professional good,” if that makes any sense.

It’s sort of weird too. I mean, on the one hand this is a script that on at least three instances has helped me take a big step forward with my writing. And on the other hand I’m experienced enough to know there’s not quite enough there to help me make the leap professionally (if I really tried to do so), I’ll need a different script for that. But there’s a level of comfort, knowledge, and confidence in the script that I keep coming back to it to whenever I want to try something new.

I’m going to use an absolutely horrible analogy here that will make me seem like a pig… but I think it’s enough to get my point across. “Blowback” is kind of like that “friend” you know that you continue to hook up with for years. You’ll never marry him/her. They’re not really the long term commitment type. But you keep getting back in the sack with them to try out new things. There’s a comfort level with them where there’s no pretending. You both know what the relationship is, and what it’s not. And you’re both game to screw around with something a bit new to see how it feels or works out. And if doesn’t work, no harm, no foul, and it just stays between you two. That’s how I feel about “Blowback.” I know what it is and what it isn’t, and it’s comforting to know I can keep going back to try out new things and tinker around.

Now I move onto the next project. I’ve got 3 other goals for the year to go:

1. Finish a draft of my horror script “Last One Standing”
2. Finish a draft of my sci-fi project
3. Finish a draft of a brand new project
4. Rewrite “Served Cold” Completed 5/13/2013
5. Bonus Goal: Finish a new draft of “The Prey”

I’ve started to work on goal #3 with Adam. We’ll see where that goes. I started to tinker with goal #1 earlier this week. And goal #2 has been on the back burner for a bit, but I’ve still been thinking about it and jotting down notes.

I’m doing some traveling over the next few weeks, so I’ll be hard to make progress on goal #3 with Adam until I wrap that up. It makes sense that in mean time I concentrate on goals #1 and #2. As for the bonus goal, who knows if I’ll give that a go, but if I need to step away from my other projects it’s good to know I’ve got that one in the pocket.

Keep writing,
-Steve

Leave a Reply

Categories

